Caddy Size

Any other questions about the software?

Caddy Size

Postby trigwynt » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:46 pm

Apologies for what maybe a dumb ass question..

In order for me to connect the Sky+ hard drive to my desktop PC, I will need a USB caddy. What size will I need please? Will it be the 2.5" or 3.5"?

Many thanks
trigwynt
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:43 pm

Re: Caddy Size

Postby pcbbc » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:05 pm

In the UK all Sky+ boxes use 3.5" desktop drives. PATA (IDE) drives for standard Sky+ and SATA for new HD boxes.
Please note that Copy+is no longer of any use for HD boxes since the deployment of the Darwin EPG. Try ExPVR instead.
User avatar
pcbbc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1802
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:08 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Caddy Size

Postby trigwynt » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:17 pm

Thanks for your reply.

Will +extract work with the hd boxes?

Thanks
trigwynt
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:43 pm

Re: Caddy Size

Postby davenye78 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:38 pm

hi i will be upgrading my box shortly, could any one supply me with a link for the best/cheapest caddy box to buy to copy all my programmes across please?
davenye78
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:33 pm

Re: Caddy Size

Postby pcbbc » Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:14 pm

What type of box are you going from and to please?
You are aware that it is no longer possible to transfer fro SD to HD?
If copying from SD to SD please continue to use Copy+. If copying HD to HD please Google for and use ExPVR.
Unfortunately there is no longer any upgrade path possible from SD to HD - Sorry.
User avatar
pcbbc
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1802
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:08 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Caddy Size

Postby kos129 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:22 pm

My software (ExPVR) does support copying from legacy devices (SD boxes and the Thompson) to the newer HD boxes in the more recent versions. The planner is converted as part of the copy.
kos129
Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:20 pm

Re: Caddy Size

Postby davenye78 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:52 pm

tahnks for the reply, im going from the old sky+hd to the new sky+ HD, so shall i use ExPVR?
davenye78
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:33 pm


Return to Copy+ General Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron